God Are You Listening?

Have you ever wondered whether God is listening when you pray? I suspect all of us, which includes me, at one time or another have had our doubts. Having doubts is not such a bad thing because we are human and prone to listen to the enemy.

Yesterday, I was in severe pain in my back near my left kidney. The pain was almost unbearable. I could hardly move without being racked with pain. Of course, in the beginning, I did what any reasonable person would do, I took some Tylenol and went to bed early. I found that laying flat on the bed was the least painful position to be in.

Before I drifted off to sleep I said my prayers. But, this time it was different. I talked to God and reminded him that I am his child and as his child I know he doesn’t want to see me in pain. So, I asked God to remove or lessen the pain so I could sleep. I also told him that if he didn’t heal me to please give me the strength, physically and emotionally, to deal with my situation.

During the night I shifted in to different positions and kept experiencing pain. I kept telling myself that God is either going to heal me or give me the strength to go through this. As the night progressed I began to feel less and less pain. When I got up this morning the pain was all but gone. I have a few minor twinges but nothing compared to yesterday.

Does God listen to our prayers? In a word, yes! I think the difference in whether you get an answer to your prayer is how you approach the throne of grace. Be bold. Be confident. Just know that God loves you and wants the best for you but in those times when you really need him, you have to ask. Don’t beat around the bush but be straight up with God and let him know how you feel and what you need.

In the end, you’ll be praising God for his love, kindness, caring, and compassion because you know that he is listening to your prayers. Yes! Amen!

Leave a Reply

